#88 ✓released
Luke Le

Attempt to remove User ID by using right click -> delete results in private key deleted

Reported by Luke Le | November 17th, 2011 @ 09:07 PM | in 1.2 (closed)

I've created a new user ID for a key of mine for testing.
After I finished testing, I wanted to delete that user id.
In order to do that I opened GPG Keychain Access, clicked on the arrow at the left
and selected the new user ID.
After that I deleted it using right click -> delete.
A message popped up asking me if I wanted to delete the secret key or both keys?

What would happen if I clicked "both keys"?
I clicked on delete secret key, still thinking this would remove only the user id,
based on my selection and ended up losing my secret key.

The video here displays all the steps:

http://cl.ly/2w353d0Q0S2r3z1l0T13

After looking at the UI again I understood that user ID's are supposed to be deleted
in the information dialog, but this was not immediately clear to me.

I'd propose to either remove the delete option, if you select a user id, or otherwise
make the delete option context aware and delete either the key or the user id based on
the selection.

Comments and changes to this ticket

Please Sign in or create a free account to add a new ticket.

With your very own profile, you can contribute to projects, track your activity, watch tickets, receive and update tickets through your email and much more.

New-ticket Create new ticket

Create your profile

Help contribute to this project by taking a few moments to create your personal profile. Create your profile »

Shared Ticket Bins

People watching this ticket

Referenced by

Pages